Melted crayon art tips

Over the past year, melted crayon art has become very popular. In my quest to find different craft projects to do, I stumbled upon a type of crayon art that creates an impressionistic painting. I should have known it was too good to be true!

Photo Credit- The Full Moxie

Photo Credit- The Full Moxie

(Feel free to follow the tutorial to the craft above.)

Needless to say, when I attempted this beautiful artwork it did not work at all. So I figured a good idea for this week would be tips to make the perfect crayon art.

If you decide to try the crayon art above, here are some things I would have done differently.

  1. I would have broken the crayons into much smaller pieces. Much smaller than seems necessary.
  2. I also would not have used as many crayon pieces. A little bit goes a long way.
  3. I wish I would have realized how runny the crayons will become. When I melted them with the iron, I thought it would melt to a gooey substance. However, it becomes very runny, so make sure you do this project on a thick layer of newspaper so that you don’t ruin anything.

Here are some general melted crayon art tips:

1. The best way to peel a crayon is to use an X-acto knife to cut the wrapper off.

photo       photo

2. With the blow drying technique, make sure you don’t overheat the crayons, because it will become too runny.

3. Lastly, the brand of crayon may play into the final product. I would advise trying different products to see if that helps to get your desired result.

Please let me know if you discover unique melted crayon art. I’d love to get to the bottom of the best way to do melted crayon art! Let me see your masterpieces!

Happy Crafting!

3 thoughts on “Melted crayon art tips

  1. Very interesting piece. I am not big into art work, but my wife loves this type of stuff. I will definitely show her and I am sure she would love to try this.

Leave a Reply

