How to refurbish a mirror- vintage style

I recently came upon a beautiful, antique barn door that I instantly feel in love with.  However, I wasn’t quite sure how to incorporate it into my room as decor. After some brainstorming I came up with a great way to spruce up the room with this one-of-a-kind piece of decor.

photo

I took the mirror that I previously had in my room and removed the fabric border that was wrapped around the edge. I then cleaned the mirror so that it looked like new!

Then, I took the barn door and wiped it down so that I could bring it inside. I leaned it up against the wall where I wanted the mirror to be and then I placed the mirror in front of the door.

The best part about this project is that it required no nails, screws, or tools of any kind!

Last but not least, I took burlap ribbon(purchased from Michaels) and tied a big bow. Then using a few push pins I attached it to the mirror!

photo

This is one of the easiest projects I have ever done and it adds so much to the room! Give it a try! You can find old barn doors like these at a local flea market or an antique mall but you may have to look hard.

Comment and let me know what you guys did to spruce up mirrors in your home or how you’ve used barn doors as home decor. I can’t wait to see what you guys have some up with!

photo

HAPPY CRAFTING!

Leave a Reply

