A Pinterest inspired Thanksgiving

With Thanksgiving only a few short weeks away, I thought I’d share some of my favorite tips and tricks for a Pinterest inspired Thanksgiving.

In my opinion, holiday decorations are in the little details. So here are my top favorite “little details” to spruce up your home this Thanksgiving season!

1. Painted Pumpkins

While carving pumpkins is great, it is slowly becoming a thing of the past. You carve a pumpkin for Halloween and within a few short days it begins to mold and ends up in the trash. Now you are left with no pumpkin decorations and money in the trash.

I painted three small pumpkins this year. They added beautiful decoration to my room and lasted well over a month! The other great thing about pumpkin painting is that you can design it any way that you’d like! Check out Pinterest for some stunning painted pumpkins to provide you with inspiration!

IMG_3578

2. A Thanksgiving Banner

I have been in multiple homes this Thanksgiving season where they have had a banner of some sort across their fireplace mantle or on a big window. The great thing about a banner is that they are easy to make, inexpensive, and you can use it every year.

All of the banners I have seen were made with burlap. Although, there are many tutorials that can be found online. I plan on making one to use every Thanksgiving by following I Heart Nap Time’s tutorial.

This tutorial uses stencils and paint to draw the letters, however, I have seen banners done by printing of letters, cutting them out, and gluing them on. Another option may be iron on letters. Give this project a chance! There is a lot of room for creativity.

Banner sayings:

Count Your Blessings

Grateful

Happy Thanksgiving

Thankfulness

3. Thanksgiving Dinner Table Name Tags

While this detail is small and definitely not necessary, I think it is a great idea if you are going to have a large group over for Thanksgiving dinner. I helps you to make sure you have enough seats and it gives a personal touch to your decorations.

4. Thankfulness List Place Setting

My favorite thing about Thanksgiving is hearing what each person is thankful for. In years past, we have gone around the room and said aloud what we were thankful for, or we’ve written it on a little piece of paper. But this year I am going to kill two birds with one stone. To add decoration I am going to get brown butcher paper and cut out place mats and write on them “I am thankful for:.” Then I’ll let the guests write what they are thankful for. I got this idea from Pinterest.

The reason I love it so much is because it will save your tablecloth from some terrible stains, provide some more decoration for the table, and allow the guests the opportunity to share what they are thankful for in a unique way.

These ideas are simple and unnecessary but they will add so much to your Thanksgiving decorations.

I hope that you’ll give these a try. Let me know how you decorate for Thanksgiving! I am always looking for new ways to spruce up the home for the holidays!

Happy Thanksgiving and Happy Crafting!

Leave a Reply

